BoM Cult.Hist.4B.3

Third Installment of the Fourth Volume, Part B, of the Cultural History of the Book of Mormon. 

If you are reading this series, consider yourself not part of any movement.  Trust me, if you could see book sales and blog visits, you’d realize you are a miniscule vapor of a very small, let’s say, “select” sliver of the population.  Something closer to a readership of one.  We are seldom honestly pluralized when addressed in this forum, really more of a “royal we.” 

So, let’s not worry about being swept away by the crowd of readers, or get too manic about building a city or whatnot.

I’ve realized, having watched local and national morning news after walking my children to the first day of school, that thinking is apparently very difficult work, a somewhat rare endeavor among anatomically modern humans….yes, grapes of wrath are souring in the heat of summer.  Third installment:

BoMChVol4B_West

tmbVol4U

10 thoughts on “BoM Cult.Hist.4B.3

  1. Donald says:

    Yes. Thinking is hard work…the only substitute is a miracle. Meanwhile, I thought I was done with Kant long ago. 🙂

  2. Kevin says:

    If the stars somehow realigned and you work was accepted at Desert Book would you want it to be there? In your ideal world how would you connect with potential readers and fellow travelers?

  3. Bertle Feinstein says:

    Daymon

    if your readership is one, then consider me president of that exclusive club.

    I have been reading deeply in all your work. I recently bought ‘Abridging Works’ and am beginning to go through it.

    Perhaps the most astounding thing I have come across of yours is the video ‘imagining the book of the Lamb’. Complete uppercut to the liver. The paradigm shift is incredible. I have watched it almost three times but still have much water to squeeze out of that stone. I think all book of mormon-interested people should watch it without doubt.

    I have a few questions perhaps best left for email, however, I cannot find your email address.

    So here is one, a somewhat integrated one, if I may:

    Who exactly are the lamanites and where in your opinion did the book of mormon events actually unfold? If the lamanites are so important, why is it no one seems to have a distinct knowledge of who they are?

    Thank you getting me to challenge the traditions I always knew were imposed onto the book of Mormon since the day I finally decided to go to the lds church, months after reading the book and knowing that it is true, both through a dream and by the Holy Spirit, or by the tiny portion thereof that I sometimes imagine may be with me.

    1. Max Faktur says:

      Very good questions above mr feinstein..

      Mr damon what are you answers? Its seems you visit your blog less than others do! !

      That is a disease that is very contagious= ‘snufferitis’- ‘purposely not responding to questions on a blog for reasons unknown but most likely easily seen right through’! !

      1. Max Faktur says:

        You’re a champ Daymon. God bless. I will read vol 4 & 5 to understand.

        Hope to see a solid write-up on Denver and his historic claims. I personally don’t believe in him or his claims for many reason that I won’t bore anyone with here.

        I know he has written favorable reviews of your books but I hope you would not let that sway you in your writing and analyzing his claim, should you choose to do so and give us your unbiased views.

        Once again, young man, you are a champ and I love your work dearly.

        Max

  4. DJL says:

    If you are implying that metrics of readership (or membership) is the way success is accounted to God, then we might as well just jump on board with the TBMs since their numbers are growing so quickly, or for that matter, the Catholics since there are so many of them around.

    To get the word out, you might want to create a full-length movie called “Meet the Metatext,” and put it in select theaters. Or just dump a bucket of ice water on your head. That seems to be working well.

    I think the work you are engaged in is called a “wonder” for a reason. As in, “I wonder if anyone will ever get this?” A good man once told me that it would only take a small handful of people to change the world. But once the choir starts singing, it will only get louder.

  5. Ryan says:

    Thinking is hard work. I remember reading in my thermodynamics text that the brain burns loads of calories when you are thinking. I thought of creating a gym where people go and take tests, work on word problems, try to prove the 2nd law of thermo wrong, and interpret your writings (j/k). But people really are inherently lazy and would figure out great ways to appear to be thinking without actually thinking, just as they do at the current gyms of the world, appearing to be working out when really they are watching Dancing With The Stars. We seem to be designed to burn the least amount of calories possible while consuming as many as possible.

    1. day2mon says:

      I’d attend that gym. It sounds like what “schools” used to be, in the Good Ol’ Days. In what I’ve seen in American culture, “thinking” is a word for “googling,” or reciting someone else’s recitation. It is difficult work, and does generally require a long apprenticeship, at least in my case.

Leave a Reply

