A Provisional Map

Exhausting summer…

Here’s a little essay I wrote up for a few friends.  It attempts to rely on the Book of Mormon to locate ourselves on a gospel map, of sorts, summarizing a little of what I’ve already published.  By “Gospel” I mean a good spell/story.

BOOKSIVEWRITTEN

There’s actually the City of Saints not pictured, a little Libretto I rather enjoy; and my dissertation, of course.

And I started this blog five years ago, and have met some good friends, from it, and am a very different person than I was when it started.

At some point I’m planning on publishing in book-form what I’ve published here (two more volumes!), alongside a few stray essays (like the promised presentation on Doubt).

Incidentally, it may surprise readers that I do believe the Book of Mormon is what Joseph Smith said it was.  And that Ezekiel 20 has superseded Ezekiel 14, in my mind.  Enjoy and thanks for reading (from among) that stack of books…and for helping me, and for helping me think.

A Provisional Map_DMS

10 thoughts on “A Provisional Map

    • Why not? Or are you gonna try to explain to everyone how you “know” that the mainstream methodology of translating ancient Egyptian is true?

      We have built our entire understanding on two things:

      1. The person who wrote that part of the Rosetta Stone actually knew it
      2. Champollion’s incomplete-but-more-complete-than-anyone-else’s foundation is correct

      We have based 100 percent of our study and understanding on those two things without ever stopping to question the premise in the first place.

      Actually, I think this discussion is rather fitting on Daymon’s website because, if anything, Daymon has done a hell of a job showing people that our assumptions and traditions have polluted our understanding of almost everything.

    • Rick! I’m (not) sure that’s a sincere question, you just happen to be asking someone you don’t know, on a blog. Right? If you believe it was as Joseph said, why ask? If you don’t, why ask me?

      Can I answer your question in a way that would add to your knowledge? If so, i will try…if not, and you really already ‘know’ the answer to your question, why ask it, except that it opens to what you really want to say. Be Brave! Just say it! Bear testimony of your belief-disbelief in something you assume some else understands.

      If I’m totally off here, and you really are just asking me, out of desperation, I apologize. It’s been a long day.

  1. Hmmm….

    8 But they rebelled against me, and would not hearken unto me: they did not every man cast away the abominations of their eyes, neither did they forsake the idols of Egypt: then I said, I will pour out my fury upon them, to accomplish my anger against them in the midst of the land of Egypt.

    9 But I wrought for my name’s sake, that it should not be polluted before the heathen, among whom they were, in whose sight I made myself known unto them, in bringing them forth out of the land of Egypt.

    10 ¶Wherefore I caused them to go forth out of the land of Egypt, and brought them into the wilderness.

    11 And I gave them my statutes, and shewed them my judgments, which if a man do, he shall even live in them.

  2. Nothing to do with this post (looking forward to reading the essay). Will you update your blog to have a ‘search’ feature in the main menu, or somewhere accessible?

  3. Why ‘Ezer’, Daymon? And ‘Zhera’? Is there a substantive reason for these names from Chronicles or just playin’?

    Thanks
    Al

Leave a Reply

