For The Record

OK. The NOT Articles of Faith.

Just in case someone cares, let me interview myself:

Q. What is your agenda?

A. Here’s what I’m NOT trying to do, and NOT saying, for the record:

1. I’m not trying to change the Church or its leaders. It’s not my place to do such things.

2. I’m not saying the Church is in apostasy. It isn’t.

3. I’m not trying to get priesthood for anyone, or deny it. Priesthood as I understand the word is not a power, nor a thing one can “get,” any more than I “get” a neighborhood, womanhood, or brotherhood.

4. I’m not advocating joining any group or following any leader. Obviously.

5. I’m not doubting the metaphysics of Mormonism. For obvious reasons found in that sentence.

6. I’m not doubting the Book of Mormon as a historical record of an ancient people.

7. I’m not saying President Monson is a fallen prophet. He isn’t.

8. I’m not saying you don’t have a right to be wrong, to worship idols, to be confused by words and histories. You do, so do I, and we both regularly exercise these rights as Mormons.

9. I don’t think the Church should change. Whatever people mean by that word, it’s their business. I’m content to observe it, on the path it is taking, as I understand that word.

Q. What do you think about what is currently splashed on the internet regarding Mormonism, Women, Gay Marriage, John Dehlin, etc?

A. Um, I think people should not go out to sing until they’ve learned their song well, nor to teach until they’ve be taught.

I think “equality” is not a good word, not to be spoken as a wedding vow: As Bob Dylan said, the only thing people have in common is they are all going to die. Prepare for that.

So, in summary: I really couldn’t care less about players on a stage competing for imaginary things. Although, I am working on an opera…

7 Comments

  1. Michael McAlpine says:

    I am recalling an interview you did some time ago about the use of language during the time when the church leaders and others were being sought out for prosecution over polygamy. Words took on another meaning from the common everyday meaning. I hope I recalled that correctly.

    Anyhow, I get what you’re saying here and why your saying it.

  2. Zane says:

    Of all people, Daymon, you might have some useful insights into our current moment of Mormon sturm and drang. While it seems unlikely that you’d feel comfortable sharing them I’m content believing someone is seeing the moment more clearly than most.

  3. Bryan says:

    I’d say that, whatever else may be true, it’s a hard rain’s a gonna fall.

  4. LDSDPer says:

    I can’t say that I understand everything you are saying, but the word “apostasy” is not found in the Book of Mormon.

    I don’t know if that has anything to do with anything at all; it may not–

    but I think that is interesting.

    One thing that I know is that I appreciate your sense of humor in your writing.

    But I’m not following you or anyone. Not even a prophet. I am trying to follow Jesus, but that is terribly difficult.

  5. Chuck Thomas says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask…what is the name of the opera, when will it show and where?

  6. LDSDPer says:

    It didn’t take me long to understand what you were saying, I think, and, if I understand it, I think it is wise–
    or I appreciate it, or something.

Comments are closed.